## **Editorial**

As the Journal enters its fourth year of publication it is appropriate, we feel, to pay tribute to those many individuals who have collectively contributed to the successful development of this new international venture. We have been much encouraged by the wide-ranging and constructive advice given by our Chairman, Dr C. A. Johnson, and by members of our Editorial Advisory Board, both in matters scientific and in questions of policy in developing the Journal concept. To those of our members who have recently retired from the Editorial Advisory Board we should like to put on record our sincere thanks for their generous and helpful contributions during the crucial early years of the Journal's development:

Prof. J. W. Bridges (Guildford), Prof. H. Bundgaard (Copenhagen), Dr L. Chafetz (Morris Plains, N.J.), Dr R. A. Chalmers (Aberdeen), Dr J. Chamberlain (Milton Keynes), Dr J. E. Fairbrother (Sligo, Eire), Dr W. Godolphin (Vancouver, BC), Dr W. J. Hensley (Sydney, N.S.W.), Dr M. J. Stewart (Glasgow), Prof. E. Tomlinson (Amsterdam) and Dr P. B. Stockwell (London).

We welcome a number of new members to the Editorial Advisory Board and look forward to their contributions in shaping Journal policy during their period of office. The appointment of Dr Michael B. Evans (Hatfield) as one of our Associate Editors brings an additional breadth of editorial experience to strengthen the Editorial Team. Equally welcome are the appointments of Professor Sergio Pinzauti (Florence, Italy) and Professor Douglas Westerlund (Uppsala, Sweden) as Regional Advisory Editors. As Editors-in-Chief primarily responsible for managing the scientific aspects of the Journal, we look forward with pleasure to collaborating with our Editorial Board in developing and consolidating the Journal concept in the years to come.

As indicated in Dr Johnson's Editorial in the last issue, the move of one of us from Scotland to the University of Bradford in West Yorkshire led to a number of difficulties in transferring intact the complex system of documents, files and computer records upon which the Journal Management System depends, leading to some regrettable delays in publication. In resolving this problem, we have taken the opportunity to implement a new strategy for streamlining the Management System. In this System, as soon as a manuscript has been successfully reviewed and accepted, it is automatically allocated by topic to one of the Editors in the Editorial Team, which has been recently expanded to include: Dr Alastair G. Davidson (Glasgow), Dr Michael B. Evans (Hatfield), Dr Terry M. Jefferies (Bath), Dr Fred L. Mitchell (Lichfield), Prof. Thomas C. O'Haver (College Park, MD) and Dr Geoffrey Smith (Edinburgh), together with the Editors-in-Chief. The manuscript is edited by the Editorial Team from a scientific and linguistic point of view. It is then professionally edited and typeset by the Production Department at Pergamon Press in Oxford. We are very grateful to our Editorial colleagues for the substantial contribution they make to the Journal, often under pressure of time. Thus the Editorial Team has been strengthened to a significant extent and broadened in a way which reflects the rapid and undiminished growth of submissions to the Journal. These

136 EDITORIAL

measures, together with the provision of appropriate secretarial assistance to the Editors-in-Chief, have done much to ensure that our Authors receive first-class service in the management of their manuscripts and in speeding their progress to publication.

It should perhaps also be noted that we have received many favourable comments from authors and readers on the format and printing standards of the Journal. For all of this our thanks go to Miss Janet Spiller and her colleagues, who edit and process the manuscripts in the Production Department at Pergamon Press, and also to Mr Peter A. Henn, who, as Senior Managing Editor for Physical Sciences, has been responsible for developing the Journal from the earliest days.

Finally, we should like to make special mention of our gratitude to the hundreds of scientists on our International Panel of Referees, who every year give generously of their time, often anonymously, in reviewing manuscripts submitted to the Journal. There can be no doubt that our Referees make a valuable and distinguished contribution in ensuring that the very highest scientific standards are maintained for the accurate reporting of original work in the rapidly growing field of analysis in the pharmaceutical and biomedical sciences.

Anthony F. Fell James N. Miller *Editors-in-Chief*